Operating while Intoxicated (OWI or DUI) Defense Attorneys in Lansing & Metro Detroit
A DUI, otherwise known as driving under the influence, is the most common alcohol-related offense in the United States. A DUI charge is one of the most difficult charges to defend. The clinical and procedural techniques and strategies of safeguarding DUIs has developed into a complex practice by continually reducing the “legal limit” and positioning harsher consequences and repercussions on people charged and convicted of DUIs.
Contact Our Experienced Lansing & East Lansing Attorneys Today
Bahrie Law will provide you with more than 40 years of working knowledge and experience in the courtroom. We pride ourselves on honesty and integrity while defending your case. Our expertise will make the difference. Time is critical whenever working with a DUI-related offense. Choosing a knowledgeable, well-informed team of attorneys will help secure and defend your rights.
What Is an OWI?
OWI stands for operating while intoxicated, and it is Michigan’s version of a DUI. While the term DUI usually refers to operating under the influence of alcohol, Michigan’s OWI lawsmake it illegal to drive:
- “While intoxicated, or impaired, by alcohol, controlled substance, or other intoxicating substance.”
- With a bodily alcohol content (BAC) of 0.09 or more
- With a “High BAC” of 0.17 or more
- With any amount of cocaine or a Schedule 1 controlled substance in your body
There are many kinds of OWI charges. You can get a standard OWI charge for any kind of impairment, an OWVI (operating while visibly impaired) charge, in which your ability to operate a motor vehicle is visibly impaired by drugs, alcohol, or another intoxicating substance; or an OWPD (operating with any presence of a Schedule 1 drug or cocaine) for trace amounts of drugs in your body.
Like other states, Michigan also has a zero-tolerance policy for drivers under the age of 21, which means it is illegal for underage drivers to have a BAC of 0.02 or more or any presence of alcohol in their bodies.
Drivers under 21 may not transport alcohol in their vehicles, either – unless they are accompanied by someone 21 or older.
What Are the Consequences for Operating While Intoxicated?
According to the Office of Secretary of State, “Michigan's anti-drunk and drugged driving laws require swift and sure action and stiff penalties for drivers who violated them.” The court must decide your case within 77 days of your arrest, and consequences for operating while intoxicated may include:
- A mandatory 6-month driver license suspension
- Court-ordered rehabilitation programs
- 5 days to 1 year of consecutive jail time, 30 to 90 days of community service, or both
- A $125 reinstatement fee for suspended, revoked, or restricted licenses
These consequences apply to all convictions, and multiple OWI convictions carry harsher penalties. If you receive a third conviction within your lifetime, you will be charged with a felony. Similarly, DUIs that result in serious injury or death will result in felony charges.
Our team at Bahrie Law has been helping clients reduce or avoid OWI-related consequences since 1979, and we can help you too.
East Lansing’s Special Rules for Alcohol and Parties
East Lansing is the home of Michigan State University, along with Downtown East Lansing, an area filled with bars and pubs. The Lansing-East Lansing metropolitan area has a problem with drunk driving, and the local police department is strict when it comes to alcohol and parties.
Hosts and drivers have special responsibilities and can face serious consequences in OWI cases.
If you have been charged with an OWI or DUI in East Lansing, look no further than our firm.
Thank you Justin Bahrie and your entire law firm- Darrell R.
I would completely trust this law firm.- Rachael J.
Would strongly recommend him to any prospective clients- Dave H.
Choose Bahrie Law- Nette W.
This by far has been a great experience- Raquel A.
$1,775,000 Wrongful Death In Jail
The client had swallowed windshield-wiper fluid but police reportedly thought he was drunk. Case settled in with one defendant and went to trial with the other
$550,000 Auto Accident
The driver likely was not paying attention to the road as he ran a stop sign and failed to yield before crossing an intersection and crashed into a large tree. The client underwent 3 shoulder surgeries. The case settled at mediation.
$415,000 Auto accident
$328,494 Worker's Compensation
$300,000 Auto Accident
The client was driving in a residential neighborhood when Defendant accelerated out of her driveway in reverse and collided with the client’s vehicle.
$300,000 Auto Accident
The at-fault driver ran a stop sign and collided with a vehicle in which the client—who was pregnant with a 22-week old unborn child—was a passenger.
$255,000 Car Accident
$250,000 Auto Accident
The client was a passenger in a single-vehicle rollover accident caused by an intoxicated driver. The client injured her neck requiring surgery but made a good recovery post-surgery.
$180,000 Workers' Compensation
$163,000 Workers' Compensation